learning new techniques

I sincerely miss learning things, being at University was the best time for me because I finally loved learning and had this desire to know everything; I also had almost unlimited free time to create, critique, find inspiration and experiment, which helped. I have been using a digital camera for a couple of years now and still, for the most part, have no idea how things work so I have taken it upon myself to learn.

This week I’ve been experimenting with post production on my images. Double exposures, lens flair and bokeh are omnipresent in my news feeds and often look incredible. Having only shot film for over a decade I have no idea how to accurately create these effects digitally or outside of the camera so I did what every millennial does when they don’t know something and looked for a tutorial on YouTube.

There are some really great tutorials out there for certain effects so I watched a few and got to experimenting. Above are some examples. I’m not sure these are effects I would want to put on most of my images but I feel a little better now knowing these techniques and being able to just have fun with post production. I’m going to go out and shoot some images this week purely for the purpose of turning them into overlays and see what I can create.

One thought on “learning new techniques

Leave a Reply

